Board of Proprietors

The Board of Proprietors is appointed by the Sisters of Mercy and represent them as owner of St Mary’s College.  The Board of Proprietors are responsible for ensuring that our special Catholic and Mercy character is maintained and, as owners, for providing and maintaining the buildings in which our College operates.  

As a Mercy College we are, of course, part of the wider Mercy whanau throughout New Zealand and internationally.  In NZ, Mercy mission includes the widely respected Mercy Hospital in Dunedin (experts in cancer and heart care), Mercy Hospice, aged care facilities, social housing for the poor, other social and environmental programmes and spirituality centres.  We should take great pride in being part of a family that continues, in a very modern way, the work that Catherine McAuley first dreamed of doing and then so clearly did in Dublin in the 19th century.  We must continue to deliver Mercy for our place and time.  This is the responsibility of us all.

Our Directors are:

Catherine Fyfe (Chair)

Nick Crang (Deputy Chair and Chair Property SC)

Jeremy Ford - Property

Brendon Henderson - Finance and investments

Natasha Watson - Special Character and BoT rep

Melanie Smith - Special Character and BoT rep

Adair Houia-Ashwell - Property

Sr Anna Nicholls - Special Character

Our Principal attends each meeting.

The next Board of Proprietors meeting is on Monday 20 June 2022.

Future dates: 15 August, 19 September, 17 October, and 21 November.

December 2021 - Thanking Sister de Porres as she steps away from the Board of Proprietors as a founding member to enjoy retirement.

Catherine Fyfe, Sister de Porres and Andrew Murray. 

Board of Proprietor Meeting at the end of 2021.